Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Marian Seldes to be honored at the Tony Awards

I’m delighted to learn that Marian Seldes will be given the Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Award at this year’s Tony Awards ceremony. Marian has graced us with her talent at three Broadway Blessings and has told me I can call upon her anytime and she’ll be there if she's free. What a gift to the theatre -- and to us -- she is.

Playwright and director Sir Alan Ayckbourn also will receive the award. Tony Award winning actor David Hyde Pierce will receive the Isabelle Stevenson Award, which recognizes an individual from the theatre community "who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations, regardless of whether such organizations relate to the theatre."

The Alliance of Resident Theatres New York, B.H. Barry and BC/EFA executive director Tom Viola will receive the Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre that were established in 1990 to award institutions, individuals and/or organizations that have "demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theatre, but are not eligible in any of the established Tony Award categories."

The awards will be presented at the 2010 Tony Awards on June 13.

No comments: